STATE OF WASHINGTON BEFORE THE MARINE EMPLOYEES' COMMISSION

INLANDBOATMEN'S UNION OF THE PACIFIC,

MEC CASE NO. 1-11

Complainant,

DECISION NO. 590 - MEC

v.

WASHINGTON STATE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION, FERRIES DIVISION,

ORDER CLOSING SETTLED COMPLAINT

Respondent.

Schwerin, Campbell, Barnard, Iglitzin and Lavitt, by *Robert Lavitt*, Attorney, appearing for the Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pacific (IBU).

Robert McKenna, Attorney General, by *David Slown* and *Don Anderson*, Assistant Attorneys General, appearing for Washington State Department of Transportation, Ferries Division (WSF).

THIS MATTER came on regularly before the Marine Employees' Commission (MEC) on September 13, 2010, when the Inlandboatmen's Union filed an unfair labor practice complaint, MEC Case No. 1-11, against the Washington State Department of Transportation, Ferries Division.

IBU's complaint charged WSF with engaging in unfair labor practices within the meaning of RCW 47.64.130(1) by interfering with, restraining or coercing employees in the exercise of rights; and by refusing to bargain collectively with representatives of employees. Specifically, IBU alleged that on or about August 10, 2010, WSF unilaterally implemented new Deck Department Standing Orders, which included a change in how deck department employees properly relieve.

The complaint was forwarded to the Commissioners to determine whether the facts alleged may constitute an unfair labor practice within the meaning of RCW 47.64.130.

By letter on September 22, 2010, IBU Regional Director Dennis Conklin withdrew the Union's complaint, informing the MEC that the parties had reached an agreement. A signed copy of the agreement is appended to and becomes a part of this Order by reference (see Item 3).

ORDER

It is hereby ordered that the unfair labor practice complaint, filed by IBU against WSF and docketed as MEC Case 1-11, is closed in acknowledgement of the parties' settlement agreement.

DATED this 24th day of September 2010.

MARINE EMPLOYEES' COMMISSION

/s/ JOHN SWANSON, Chairman

/s/ PATRICIA WARREN, Commissioner

/s/ JOHN COX, Commissioner