## STATE OF WASHINGTON BEFORE THE MARINE EMPLOYEES' COMMISSION

INLANDBOATMEN'S UNION OF THE PACIFIC on behalf of YVONNE ROCENS,

MEC CASE NO. 12-04

Grievant,

DECISION NO. 387 - MEC

v.

WASHINGTON STATE FERRIES.

ORDER CLOSING SETTLED GRIEVANCE

Respondent.

*Dennis Conklin*, Business Agent, appearing for the Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pacific and Yvonne Rocens.

Christine Gregoire, Attorney General, by *David Slown*, Assistant Attorney General, appearing for Washington State Ferries.

THIS MATTER came on regularly before the Marine Employees' Commission (MEC) on August 15, 2003, when the Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pacific (IBU) filed a request for grievance arbitration on behalf of Yvonne Rocens. IBU alleged that WSF denied Ms. Rocens guaranteed holiday pay and/or by-pass pay for July 4, 2002, in violation of Rules 12 and 25 of the IBU/WSF Collective Bargaining Agreement.

IBU certified that the grievance procedures in the pertinent IBU/WSF Collective
Bargaining Agreement had been utilized and exhausted. In addition, the union certified that the
arbitrator's decision shall not change or amend the terms, conditions or application of said
collective bargaining agreement and that the arbitrator's award shall be final and binding.

The request for grievance arbitration was docketed as MEC Case No. 12-04.

Commissioner John Sullivan was assigned to act as Mediator at a settlement conference

scheduled for October 15, 2003. Commissioner John Byrne was designated to act as Arbitrator

at the hearing scheduled for November 3, 2003.

The matter was not resolved during the October 15 settlement conference; additional

documentation was required. By letter on October 28, 2003, Jeff Engels, IBU, reported Case

12-04 settled and withdrew the grievance.

**ORDER** 

It is hereby ordered that the request for grievance arbitration, filed by the

Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pacific on behalf of Yvonne Rocens and docketed as MEC Case

No. 12-04, is closed as settled.

DATED this \_\_\_\_ day of November 2003.

MARINE EMPLOYEES' COMMISSION

JOHN SWANSON, Chairman

JOHN SULLIVAN, Commissioner

JOHN BYRNE, Commissioner