STATE OF WASHINGTON BEFORE THE MARINE EMPLOYEES' COMMISSION

INLANDBOATMEN'S UNION OF THE PACIFIC on behalf of JOHN PELLAND,

MEC Case No. 20-03

Grievant,

DECISION NO. 348 - MEC

v.

ORDER DISMISSING ADJUSTED GRIEVANCE

WASHINGTON STATE FERRIES,

Respondent.

Dennis Conklin, Business Agent, appearing for and on behalf of the Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pacific and John Pelland.

Christine Gregoire, Attorney General, by *David Slown*, Assistant Attorney General, appearing for and on behalf of Washington State Ferries.

THIS MATTER came on regularly before the Marine Employees' Commission (MEC) on November 4, 2002, when the Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pacific (IBU) filed a request for grievance arbitration, asserting that WSF denied John Pelland and other licensed IBU Deck Employees promotion to Masters, Mates & Pilots' positions in violation of Rules 1.09, 10-04, 11.08, 21.01, 21.06, 21.07 D—H and 31.01—31.04.

The union certified that the grievance procedures in the pertinent IBU/WSF Collective Bargaining Agreement had been utilized and exhausted. In addition, the union certified that the arbitrator's decision would not change or amend the terms, conditions or application of said collective bargaining agreement and that the arbitrator's award would be final and binding.

The request for grievance arbitration was docketed as MEC Case No. 20-03.

Commissioner John Byrne was assigned to act as Mediator at a settlement conference scheduled for November 22, 2002. Chairman John Nelson was designated to act as Arbitrator for the

hearing scheduled on January 13, 2003.

During the November 22 settlement conference, IBU Business Agent Dennis Conklin

unilaterally withdrew the request for arbitration. (A copy of the written withdrawal was

forwarded to the MEC office.)

No. 20-03, be dismissed.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered that the request for grievance arbitration, filed by the Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pacific on behalf of John Pelland and docketed as MEC Case

DATED this ____ day of December 2002.

MARINE EMPLOYEES' COMMISSION

JOHN NELSON, Chairman

JOHN SULLIVAN, Commissioner

JOHN BYRNE, Commissioner