STATE OF WASHINGTON

BEFORE THE MARINE EMPLOYEES' COMMISSION

INLANDBOATMEN'S UNION OF)	MEC Case No. 40-00
THE PACIFIC on behalf of)	
JUANITA BARBER and)	
LINDA BROWNLEE,)	
)	
Grievants,)	DECISION NO. 262-MEC
)	
V.)	
)	ORDER OF DISMISSAL
WASHINGTON STATE FERRIES,)	
)	
Respondent.)	
)	

Dennis Conklin, Business Agent, appearing for and on behalf of the Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pacific, Juanita Barber and Linda Brownlee.

Christine Gregoire, Attorney General, by *David Slown*, Assistant Attorney General, for and on behalf of Washington State Ferries.

THIS MATTER came on regularly before the Marine Employees' Commission (MEC) on November 9, 2000, when the Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pacific (IBU) filed a request for grievance arbitration on behalf of Juanita Barber and Linda Brownlee. In its grievance arbitration request, IBU asserted that Washington State Ferries (WSF) incorrectly paid Juanita Barber and Linda Brownlee, in violation of Rule 8.03 and 11.02 of the collective bargaining agreement.

IBU certified that the grievance procedures in the IBU/WSF collective bargaining agreement had been utilized and exhausted. In addition, the union certified that the arbitrator's decision shall not change or amend the terms, conditions or application of said collective bargaining agreement and that the arbitrator's award shall be final and binding.

The request for grievance arbitration was docketed as MEC Case No. 40-00 and assigned to Commissioner John P. Sullivan, to act as Arbitrator. A hearing was scheduled for February 2, 2001.

By telephone on February 1, 2001, Union Representative Dennis Conklin advised the MEC of IBU's intent to withdraw the grievance. The hearing was cancelled. On February 16, 2001, MEC received IBU's letter withdrawing the matter.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered that the request for grievance arbitration, filed by IBU on behalf of Juanita Barber and Linda Brownlee and docketed as MEC Case No. 40-00, be dismissed.

DATED this	day of February 2001.
	MARINE EMPLOYEES' COMMISSION
	JOHN D. NELSON, Chairman

DAVID E. WILLIAMS, Commissioner

JOHN P. SULLIVAN, Commissioner