## STATE OF WASHINGTON BEFORE THE MARINE EMPLOYEES' COMMISSION

INLANDBOATMEN'S UNION OF THE PACIFIC on behalf of LORIANN MALONE.

MEC Case No. 47-03

Grievant,

DECISION NO. 376 - MEC

v.

WASHINGTON STATE FERRIES.

ORDER DISMISSING ADJUSTED GRIEVANCE

Respondent.

*Dennis Conklin*, Business Agent, appearing for the Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pacific and Loriann Malone.

Christine Gregoire, Attorney General, by *David Slown*, Assistant Attorney General, appearing for Washington State Ferries.

THIS MATTER came on regularly before the Marine Employees' Commission (MEC) on May 23, 2003, when the Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pacific (IBU) filed a request for grievance arbitration on behalf of Loriann Malone. IBU alleged that Loriann Malone worked for WSF on November 18 and 19, 2001, but received no health benefits for the month of November, in violation of the IBU/WSF Collective Bargaining Agreement.

IBU certified that the grievance procedures in the pertinent IBU/WSF Collective
Bargaining Agreement had been utilized and exhausted. In addition, the union certified that the
arbitrator's decision shall not change or amend the terms, conditions or application of said
collective bargaining agreement and that the arbitrator's award shall be final and binding.

The request for grievance arbitration was docketed as MEC Case No. 47-03.

Commissioner John Sullivan was assigned to act as Mediator at a settlement conference

scheduled for July 14, 2003. Chairman John Nelson was designated to act as Arbitrator at the hearing scheduled for September 12, 2003.

The parties made some progress toward resolving the dispute during the July 14 settlement conference. By letter on August 20, 2003, Dennis Conklin, IBU, withdrew the grievance.

## **ORDER**

It is hereby ordered that the request for grievance arbitration, filed by the Inlandboatmen's Union of the Pacific on behalf of Loriann Malone and docketed as MEC Case No. 47-03, be dismissed.

DATED this \_\_\_\_\_ day of September 2003.

MARINE EMPLOYEES' COMMISSION
JOHN NELSON, Chairman
JOHN SULLIVAN, Commissioner

JOHN BYRNE, Commissioner